Stirrings of the Spirit

Just another WordPress.com site

I feel this calling inside me.  Sometimes it feels so strong, that it just can’t be wrong.  Other times, I encounter obstacles and I use them to convince myself that I was mistaken, and it was never meant to be.  I have a real struggle trying to work out what God is calling me to do. 

Another opportunity recently showed itself to me to follow this calling that feels so strong inside me, but I was hesitant to follow through with it.  I’ve tried so many times to make this happen, and nothing ever comes from it.  Why put myself through it all again? 

Last Sunday was the canonisation of St Mary of The Cross, Australia’s first saint, along with another 5 saints from various parts of the world.  Mary MacKillop was the founder of the Josephite sisters and encountered plenty of obstacles in the process from many people, prists, bishops and even sisters from her own order.  I’m sure there must have been times she doubted her calling, but she never gave up. 

I think that is such a good example for us all. I need to remember to stay true to myself and my vocation, and not give up, even when things get a little bit hard. 

I’m going to take that opportunity.  I don’t know where it will lead me, and maybe it will go nowhere once again, but no one can say I didn’t try my best.

October 21, 2010 - Posted by | Faith | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I think now is your time

    Comment by Chazz Byron | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] plans changed.  I will be starting a new job in January, and part of the job description will be to lead the Diocesan group to Spain.  Something that I […]

    Pingback by World Youth Day Experiences « Stirrings of the Spirit | December 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

