Stirrings of the Spirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Anxiety Free Faithfulness

I recently had to undergo some surgery. it had the potential to become complicated, but it seemed to go well. Although the doctors’ bills seem to repeat the word complicated several times. I’m not feeling good and hopeful about what the future will hold without this health issue that could have been holding me back without my knowledge.

I asked for a lot of prayers prior to the surgery. I was feeling comfortable about the whole thing, but I know it doesn’t hurt to have people praying in the background. So I told more people than I probably usually would, just to get some extra prayers. 

I have bounced back pretty well, so I’ll give credit to all those prayers for helping with my speedy recovery and for blessing me with skilled surgeons.

A priest gave me Anointing of the Sick the evening before the surgery.  It was my first time receiving the sacrament and it felt very special.  I was grateful that it was offered to me as I don’t think I would have ever thought to have asked for it. It was comforting and hopefuly.  The priest said to me that the opposite of faith is anxiety.  I can’t say I felt anxious at all. I felt calm. I don’t know if my husband and the rest of my family felt that, but I was calm, so hopefully it was an indication of my faithfulness.

I wish that I could carry over that anxiety free faithfulness to other areas of my life. At work, i can whip myself into a fair panic of what I may have done wrong or forgotten to do, when really maybe all i need to do is take some time to pray and rediscover that faithfulness that I know is inside me.

October 4, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment